Annie Leibovitz

I absolutely love Annie, I’ve grown up looking through her quirky work and influential use of full lights. She was brought up today in our lighting class so I’ve included a few of my favourite images of hers. I love her disney adaptations of celebs and what draws me to love these is the use of light and mood through these images. In the first image the yellow hues create the atmosphere of richness and luxury associated with the princess in the frog where the overall film is a strong juxtaposition between rich and poor this exaggerated with the rich clothing and lighting against the dark swampy forest. And with Keira Knightly’s wizard of oz image at the bottom the bight light emphasises the yellow brick and the red shoes that are the most iconic props of the wizard of Oz have the strongest highlight and you can see the shadow emphasising this side of her more to the tell tale signs of the external light as her foot is highlighted on both sides. 

I want to start incorporating this into my photography and shots, by highlighting certain parts of each shot to tell the story of each shot. 

Leave a comment